Caterino Adult Attention Deficit Scales (CAADS)

By: Linda C. Caterino, PhD

Test profile:
  • Age Range: 14-80 years.
  • Items: 32; each rated at home, work (school), social, as a child.
  • Type: Self report.
  • Scales: ADHD Inattentive , ADHD Hyperactive-Impulsive, Generalized Anxiety, Oppositional Defiant Disorder. Determines whether DSM-IV criteria are met in these areas.
Publisher's statement
Caterino Adult ADHD Scale (CAADS) has been developed to measure the DSM-IV criteria associated with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Impulsivity syndrome. The CAADS is specifically structured to assess ADHD in adult populations, since there is evidence that ADHD symptoms persevere into adulthood in a measurable percentage of the population. Two other diagnostic categories were built into the measure that have a degree of comorbidity with ADHD: Oppositional Defiant Disorder and Generalized Anxiety. CAADS allows the clinician to 'rule out' these disorders and to determine whether or not their symptoms are a factor in the observed patterns of behavior. This questionnaire typically requires 15 minutes to complete.

Report includes a bar graph showing six ADHD areas and the 2 diagnostic category scores , along with a summary table showing each symptom and whether criteria was met for diagnosis. Percentile ranks for each category compared with the normative sample are presented. A section on validity summarizes missing data and lists responses on each of the items in the questionnaire.

* The ADHD in children is assessed with the Brown ADD Scales.

See FAQs for more information about how the site operates. Professionals click here to register.